Customer Reviews

Based on 429 reviews
73%
(315)
15%
(64)
5%
(22)
5%
(20)
2%
(8)
Great gloves, happy with my purchase.

I bought XXL which is my usual size for gloves. Even at XXL most gloves are still a little short in the fingers for my hands but these ones fit the length of my fingers perfectly. I would like to have had another 1/2” length in the palm as the cuff sits just short of my wrist, otherwise they are great. The insulation is thick enough to keep my hands from freezing but does not interfere with camera operation. The finger and thumb holes are a tad tight, but that allows them to cover up better when not in use and not allow the cold in so it’s not a big deal. The texture in the palm gives good grip. I would gladly buy these again.

Fit and chart..

I have now purchased 2 pairs of this brand; one of the gloves in a Large and one of the Mittens in a small. The size chart didn't help me at all. I gave away the two pairs as I didn't want to be bothered with the shipping fee to return and retry and then return again??? I wish your product was in more stores. Not sure if I go for three and get the medium...I was so hoping these would work!

Early Days.

Had these gloves for a couple of weeks now, and during that short time I can say they are extremely well made, and comfortable, and although I have not tested them in what I would call severe weather I am pleased with my purchase so far.

Great glove and love the design.

Photographing in Alaska winter is a challenge for any photographer. Keeping your feet and hands gloves a battle I have been fighting g for a long time, until today. Loves this gloves and the way it keeps my hands protected from the elements. The only reason I did not give this gloves a 5 rating is due to the zippers. It is impossible to zip them once you have them on. You have to use your teeth to pull the zipper shut. Hard to do.....Happy with this gloves!!

Nice gloves, not warm enough

These gloves fit well but not warm enough for me. We recently had some cold weather here in the UK and found that they were not warm enough for me. I wasn't out with my camera so didn't have the fingers turned back, I was walking but my hand still got cold. I have used them with a liner glove and they were better but will have to find some with touch screen finger tips for them to be any use in colder weather. A bit disappointed.

My Favorite Gloves!

Great gloves! They are well made and keep you warm while shooting. The magnets are a lifesaver for me. Love the pockets so you can put in hand warmers, plus one of the pockets has a tripod key. The sizing is definitely made to be snug so if you plan to wear a liner you may want to size up. I can also say their customer service is fantastic. I ordered a size too big. The exchange was easy. They sent me new gloves before receiving the ones I returned. Really appreciated the quick turnaround! Fantastic company and fantastic gloves!

Stoked to hear you're happy with the gloves! Warm hands and happy shooting adventures :D
Perfect.

Fantastic gloves, did exactly what I needed, comfortable and warm. The magnets to hold the finger tips open are brilliant. Overall well worth the buy.

Photography gloves

Really pleased with them but as a company I couldn’t be more impressed very fast service replied to e mails within a couple of hours would highly recommend this company if your looking for gloves.

Was a pleasure Andy! Happy winter shooting :D
The fit and construction were fine but they did not keep my hands warm

I bought a pair of Ipsoot gloves and the merino liners in preparation for a 4 day birding trip to Duluth MN last weekend. We birded from sunrise to sunset. The temperatures ranged from -27F to -15F without wind chill.. Even with the liners after about 15 to 20 minutes outside my fingers were numb and it was quite painful. Fortunately we were birding from vans so I could return to the heated vans and use hand warmers to restore feeling to my fingers I assume they would do better at warmer temperatures but they did not work for me at these temperatures.

Ipsoot Photography Glove

The gloves appears to be made from excellent materials and I believe has a stylish look to them that I like. I will be fully testing them out regarding how warm they are and my ability to use my camera equipment in the very cold winter environment of Yellowstone in a little over a week.They do appear to grip my camera nicely. I will be using a thin merino glove inside these gloves so my finger and thumb will have some protection when the tips are off and they seem to work well with these gloves. I agree with an earlier reviewer when he said that there is "a sewn seam inside where the tag and wrist cuff all meet that is a bunched up hard ridge" I too find this annoying and I believe this hard ridge of tags and a seem rubbing on the bottom of my wrist may rub my skin raw in this area. This may be deal breaker for me if it continues to rub, perhaps the thin merino glove may help limit this rubbing but I think this is a defect that should be addressed. By eliminating all fabric stitched tags inside the gloves one would likely eliminate this issue. I will update by opinions of the gloves after my winter photography trip to Yellowstone

Looks great but I have yet to try it out in the appropiate sircumstances

Great gloves, very tight fit

Wonderful feeling, keeps the warmth and fits great - after I went up a size. Measured my hands twice but L was to snug so I changes for XL and they fit perfectly. Many kudos for great customer support and an awesome product.

Markhof Pro 2.0 Photography Glove

Vallerret Ipsoot gloves.

I really like these gloves. Very warm, and the finger cups work great! I gave them a four, instead of a five because:
1. I think the magnet should possibly be positioned a little farther back on the finger. When you bend the cup back, it seems like it should be held back farther than what it is.
2. This is a comfort and fit issue: Personally, I think the leather palm part of the glove is too short. The palm part of the glove barely reaches the wrist, and there is a sewn seam inside where the tag and wrist cuff all meet that is a bunched up hard ridge that I find annoying rubbing on the bottom of my wrist where the cuff meets the glove. It's like the glove is too short at the wrist, but the hand and fingers all have a good fit. As for actually using the gloves, that part is great. I've had them out in very cold conditions and using the finger cups and operating the camera works great. The non-slip rubber added to the glove gives good grip, and the insulation is warm.
3. One last thing. Not a problem just a comment. I think that Vallerret should drop the zipper/pocket thing on the back hand of the glove. It's seems to be kind of a useless thing, and adds cost and bulk to the glove that I don't think would be missed. That's it. Great gloves except where noted. Four stars.

I have several models from Vallerret but I think this is the most useful. Top quality

Suits The Cold, Not The Wind

After a few weeks of using these gloves in 5F (Michigan Winter) I’ve found that they work as expected. My hands were warm enough to let me keep shooting, but once the wind picked up it was game over. The insulation and merino wool weren’t ideal with a windchill that dipped below -25F. To be clear, I like the gloves, they fit well and work as intended, just beware that they don’t take windchill too well.

Good but not as warm as expected

They fit within my other pair of gloves by Vallerret, however I bought this because I wanted an additional layer and is almost the same as not having it. Probably would have been better off just to get the gloves for hard winter.

It is perfect now!

Good, but not perfect

These gloves are good, but not without fault. On the left hand the label itches. Also the gloves could be a little bit warmer. Especially in the wind my fingertips get cold, though in the Netherlands, it is not really that cold.

The good; good grip, good flex on thumb and index finger to the top, looks good, good weather seal

Jack of softness inside

Tiny...

I chose a size above mine as the site recommends.
The between-fingers is too small. The thumb seems OK but not the others fingers.
In my opinion, this is a problem of shape rather than size of the products.

Hi Nicolas, if you're not happy with the model or fit of the gloves, please write us at support@photographygloves.com so we can think of a suitable solution :) Cheers!
Poor construction and defective product

Returned two sets. Poor construction and defective. Really surprised at all the positive reviews..

Hi again Mehran! Again, sorry, you're disappointed with the gloves. We did offer a defect exchange and even to ship it to Paris to you, instead of to the US. I know you opted out so we offered a return under a warranty. It's our policy and we don't want any of the clients to be unhappy in the end. Still haven't heard back from you or got the return shipping receipt so we can refund you for the gloves. Drop us a line whenever you're ready, so we can proceed with this..
Not Just for Still Photographers

I'm a TV news videographer in northern Canada. It gets cold here for 4-5 months a year, and the news doesn't wait for warmer weather. Manipulating little buttons, dials, and switches with a bulky winter glove is out of the question, and thinner gloves just do not cut it some (most) days. Now, with these gloves I can keep my hands warm and still work the camera.
My only dislike (if you can even call it that!) with the gloves is the magnets- they don't always catch on the first try. A little too much material gets caught between the magnets, making the magnets not connect. But if you take your time and purposely fold the fingertip and attach the magnets, they work just fine!
Now I have to keep an eye on these gloves, so my jealous coworkers don't steal them!
(Of course, these gloves work flawlessly with my DSLR too!)

First class gloves and customer service

I want to thank Vallerret for their friendly and nice service.
I got my Makrhof pro 2.0 gloves, but found that I probably should have ordered one size larger. I had a nice e-mail conversation with Anna from Vallerret, and then decided to exchange the gloves. They came as expected, and I 'm now the happy owner of a Vallerret Markhof pro 2.0 size XL.
Nice sticky gloves, and with the larger size I can now wear a thin inner glove on colder days.
Happy shooting everyone!
/Per from DK

Was a pleasure Per! Let them keep you warm - happy winter shooting :D
Sadly disappointed

I was very hopeful. Sadly disappointed.
Highly reviewed by photographers that photograph on snow-capped mountain tops.
Here's where my disappointment lies:
1) I'm in Minnesota. Markhof Pro 2.0 gloves are for Moderate winters. My finger tips were still getting really cold at 15 degrees F.

2) the magnets are pointless. They work if you very carefully (with one glove off) manipulate the cloth that lies between the magnets to fold over just so, so it doesn't interfere with the two magnets coming together.... THEN it'll work.
and that's only for the index finger magnets!!
Even if you do that with the thumb magnets, they still don't hold together! ... But then, having to be so perfect in moving the in between material away from the magnets defeats the entire purpose of the magnets, no?

3) the sizing chart didn't work well for me. I made sure I measured it THREE times. The glove fingers were still too long, that my thumb kept popping out of the thumb slit. You say, "just exchange it for a smaller size?" ... but they don't even cover shipping for size exchange.
I was wanting to give the gloves another try to see if maybe if the sizing was okay, I could probably keep them and make do with them. But, if I'm having to pay for shipping to exchange the size and then possibly shipping, AGAIN, to return it if I still didn't like them, then what's the point. I might as well as just return them now! Cut my losses, so to speak.

4) the tag on the inside was placed so the edge is right at the seam where the wrist meets the edge of the palm. The tag that was sewn into that seam kept cutting at my wrist.

Overall, I was very disappointed in the gloves. For a 2.0 version and advertised as Professional Photography gloves with reviews from a stated Professional photographer that now does reviews for the brand, this is a pretty disappointing product. I don't think I'll off that photographers recommendations anymore.

Good thing... as least the return...

Hi Lisa! Sorry to hear you're disappointed with the gloves. It's a pity you did not mention these points in one of our emails, we would of thought of some solution to this :) Markhof 2.0 is a mid-winter glove, and when you asked at first about temperature recommendations I'd of not advertise it as suitable for 15F for most of the people. If the magnets were not working properly, it can mean two things - perhaps, which rarely happens - they have been stitched wrong - we would have exchanged them for you. Or other option - thumb length and where the knuckle hinges can effect how well the magnets stay connected. To combat this, check that the magnets overlap when you fold it back, you may need to move out your thumb just a little further for the magnets to meet. All hands are different and millimeters can make a big difference :) When it comes to size exchange - we do cover costs of shipping of the new size to your door - that's our policy. Customer covers the return shipment of the size he/she doesn't like. And usually it's ok if you return the gloves after trying the new size on, not to double the shipping costs. Again, I am sorry you were not happy with them - we will process your return as quick as possible, just send me the return shipment receipt :) Still, happy shooting :)
Sizing Chart

FIND YOUR SIZE:

  1. Measure around the widest part of your hand with a relaxed open palm.
  2. Measure from base of hand to the tip of the middle finger.

NB: We design our gloves to be snug for best camera feel possible. This sizing chart reflects snuggly fitted gloves.

Unisex Sizes XS S M L XL XXL
Hand Girth cm  18 - 20  20 - 21 21 - 22 22 - 23 23 - 25 25-28
inch  7.1 - 7.9   7.9 - 8.3  8.3 - 8.7 8.7 - 9.1 9.1 - 9.8 9.8-11.0
Hand Length cm  16.0 - 17.5  17.5 - 18.5 18.0 - 19.0 19.0 - 20.0 20.5 - 22.0 22-24.0
inch  6.3 - 6.9 6.9 - 7.2 7.1 - 7.5 7.5 - 7.9 8.1 - 8.7 8.7-9.4
 EU Size Equivalent  EU 7.5  EU 8 EU 8.5 EU 9 EU 10 EU 11
 Unisex Glove Models: Markhof Pro 2.0 | Skadi Zipper Mitt | Ipsoot | Alta Over-Mitt | Merino Liner Touch | Primaloft/Merino Liner
Female Sizes XS S M L XL
Hand Girth cm 16.0 - 17.5 17.5 - 18.8 18.5 - 20.0 20.0 - 21.5 -
inch  6.3 - 6.9 6.9 - 7.4 7.2 - 7.9 7.9 - 8.5 -
Hand Length cm 15.5 - 16.5 16.3 - 17.2  17.0 - 18.5 19.0 - 20.0 -
inch  6.1 - 6.5 6.4 - 6.8 6.7 - 7.3 7.5 - 7.9 -
 EU Size Equivalent  EU 6  EU 7 EU 8 EU 9 -
Female Glove Models: W's Nordic

★ Judge.me Reviews

Let customers speak for us

429 reviews
73%
(315)
15%
(64)
5%
(22)
5%
(20)
2%
(8)
Great gloves, happy with my purchase.

I bought XXL which is my usual size for gloves. Even at XXL most gloves are still a little short in the fingers for my hands but these ones fit the length of my fingers perfectly. I would like to have had another 1/2” length in the palm as the cuff sits just short of my wrist, otherwise they are great. The insulation is thick enough to keep my hands from freezing but does not interfere with camera operation. The finger and thumb holes are a tad tight, but that allows them to cover up better when not in use and not allow the cold in so it’s not a big deal. The texture in the palm gives good grip. I would gladly buy these again.

Fit and chart..

I have now purchased 2 pairs of this brand; one of the gloves in a Large and one of the Mittens in a small. The size chart didn't help me at all. I gave away the two pairs as I didn't want to be bothered with the shipping fee to return and retry and then return again??? I wish your product was in more stores. Not sure if I go for three and get the medium...I was so hoping these would work!

Early Days.

Had these gloves for a couple of weeks now, and during that short time I can say they are extremely well made, and comfortable, and although I have not tested them in what I would call severe weather I am pleased with my purchase so far.

Great glove and love the design.

Photographing in Alaska winter is a challenge for any photographer. Keeping your feet and hands gloves a battle I have been fighting g for a long time, until today. Loves this gloves and the way it keeps my hands protected from the elements. The only reason I did not give this gloves a 5 rating is due to the zippers. It is impossible to zip them once you have them on. You have to use your teeth to pull the zipper shut. Hard to do.....Happy with this gloves!!

Nice gloves, not warm enough

These gloves fit well but not warm enough for me. We recently had some cold weather here in the UK and found that they were not warm enough for me. I wasn't out with my camera so didn't have the fingers turned back, I was walking but my hand still got cold. I have used them with a liner glove and they were better but will have to find some with touch screen finger tips for them to be any use in colder weather. A bit disappointed.